Starting Out Hot

Graduating college, moving to Houston, beginning a new job…and starting a blog! Seems like a logical progression of things.

I’m starting out this blog to keep myself accountable (and to intersperse some words into my days filled with Excel & numbers). I have grand plans (in cooking, as in life), and I always do better if I’m keeping track of myself. Otherwise, before I know it, my grand plan has fallen by the wayside, I’m living off cereal & raw carrots (not that there’s anything wrong with either of those). I love cooking, almost as much as I love eating, and I want to make sure I remember that. Because cereal can be awfully convincing in its call after long days.

This blog will follow my grand plan of cooking adventures. I’ve used so many blogs & recipes from the internet, it only seems fair to give back with what I’ve done!

With that, the first adventure: raspberry scones.

IMAG2776

They were delicious. Fresh out of the oven, still warm, buttery, and not at all like the slightly hard, dry pastries I’ve eaten in coffeeshops. Adapted from an Allrecipes site:

2c light flour (White Lily or similar cake flour)
1/3c sugar
1tsp baking powder
1/4tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
8 tbsp butter (unsalted & frozen)
1/2c sour cream
1 egg
raspberries (or cranberries, raisins, chocolate chips, blueberries…)

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Chop frozen butter into chunks, then cut into flour mixture.

Whisk egg & sour cream until smooth, then add to flour mixture. It’ll be dry & take a while to mix in, but it’ll end up together.

Form dough into circle around 1″ thick, and add raspberries. I did the technical method known as “shoving them in the dough.” Sprinkle with sugar and cut into triangles. Place onto cookie sheet & bake 15min @ 400 degrees. Cool for 5 minutes, or as long as you can wait, and enjoy!

One thought on “Starting Out Hot

Leave a Reply

